Meetings

We regularly hold two types of meetings:

Support Meetings

These are open meetings that give you the chance to meet other people with MND, their carers and family, as well as others whose lives have been impacted by the disease. This is an opportunity to share experiences and knowledge in a relaxed atmosphere, with others who understand. Our guest speakers cover topics relevant to people affected by MND. MND can be an isolating disease – these meetings can help to combat that feeling by providing a warm and welcoming atmosphere. Refreshments are provided too.

Our support meetings are held on Sunday afternoons, 3 – 5pm at:

St Paul’s Centre
St Paul’s Road
Brentford
TW8 0PN

There are five support meetings a year.

Next Meeting:
Sunday 18 March – AGM

Upcoming Meetings in 2018:
Sunday 24 June
Sunday 16 September
Sunday 2 December

 

Carers’ Group Meetings

These are geared towards people who know, or are living with, someone with MND, be it the primary carer, or someone who is an occasional carer, including children aged over 16. The idea is that anyone who is, or might take the role of carer, even for a short period, can attend and talk to others in the same position. The challenges of caring for someone with MND are often underestimated. These meetings offer the opportunity to talk about those challenges in a supportive, welcoming and non-judgemental atmosphere.

Some feedback from carers who have attended group meetings:

• ‘I feel stronger having heard everyone else’s experiences and sharing my own.’

• ‘It’s good to know you can sit with people who understand, chat over tea and biscuits and have a break for an hour or two. I left feeling that I had spent an evening with friends. That’s a good feeling.’

• ‘I thought it was brilliant, to be able to discuss and share everyone’s experience, good or bad and be able to learn and explore how to improve the level of support provided to the loved ones.’

• ‘It’s very welcoming and distinctly non-threatening.’

Our Carers’ Group meetings are held on the third Tuesday of every month, excluding August and December, between 7.15 – 8.45pm at:

Richmond Oddfellows Hall
15 Parkshot
Richmond
TW9 2RT

Next Meeting:
Tuesday 16 January

Upcoming meetings in 2018:

Tuesday 20 February
Tuesday 20 March
Tuesday 17 April
Tuesday 15 May
Tuesday 19 June
Tuesday 17 July
Tuesday 18 September
Tuesday 16 October
Tuesday 20 October

 

 

This web site uses cookies to help improve your online experience. Please click accept if you are happy with this. Accept Find Out More
We’ve recently updated our privacy policy, find out how we use your data.