MPs elected to parliamentary group on MND

APPG elected officers 2019
L to R: Chris Evans MP, Andrew Lewer MP, Madeleine Moon MP, Rosie Duffield MP


The All-Party Parliamentary Group (APPG) on MND held its AGM last week and elected the Officers for another year.

Madeleine Moon MP (Labour, Bridgend) remains as Chair of the Group, whilst Andrew Lewer MP (Conservative, Northampton South) and Christine Jardine MP (Lib Dem, Edinburgh West) were elected as Vice-Chairs.  Chris Evans MP (Labour, Islwyn) remains as the Secretary to the Group.  The MND Association was appointed to act as the secretariat to the Group for another year.

APPG Group 2019
L to R: Madeleine Moon MP, Ian Muir, Dr Imran Rafi. Front: Cath Muir

At the meeting, people affected by MND spoke to MPs about why our Scrap 6 Months campaign is so important to them.

Cath and Ian Muir travelled from North Yorkshire to share their experience of claiming benefits.  Cath’s claim for Personal Independence Payment (PIP) was handled by the consultant and she received her benefits quickly. Her case illustrates the inequity in the current system and how access to the fast -track process relies on the willingness of a clinician to sign a DS1500 form.

Dr Imran Rafi, a GP lecturer from St George’s University London, explained how giving a prognosis in MND is very difficult and the “arbitrary” 6-month rule should be removed.  Dr Rafi also agreed that people with terminal illnesses should be given life-long awards, rather than the 3-year award under the current fast-track process.


Fourteen MPs attended the meeting - see the list
Madeleine Moon MP (Chair) – Bridgend,
Peter Aldous MP – Waveney,
Paul Blomfield MP – Sheffield Central,
David Drew MP – Stroud,
Jack Dromey MP – Birmingham, Erdington,
Rosie Duffield MP – Canterbury,
Chris Evans MP – Islwyn,
Gillian Keegan MP (researcher) – Chichester,
Karen Lee MP – Lincoln,
Andrew Lewer MP – Northampton South,
Scott Mann MP – North Cornwall,
Steve McCabe MP – Birmingham Selly Oak,
Cat Smith MP- Lancaster and Fleetwood,
Mark Tami MP – Alyn and Deeside

Thank you to all our supporters who emailed their MP about the meeting.

Find out more:

For further information and support contact our MND Connect helpline

mndconnect 0808 802 6262