MPs meet virtually to discuss the impact of COVID-19 on people with MND

Virtual APPG meeting

The All-Party Parliamentary Group (APPG) on MND hosted its first ever online meeting today to discuss the impact of COVID-19 on the MND community.

The meeting was chaired by Andrew Lewer MBE MP, speakers were Science Minister Amanda Solloway MP, CEO of the MND Association, Sally Light, Consultant Neurologist Professor Ammar Al-Chalabi, and Jessica and Shaan who are living with MND.

Panellists discussed the impact of COVID-19 on the MND Association, medical research and people affected by MND. Jessica gave a sobering account of caring for husband Shaan, who is living with MND, during the coronavirus outbreak. She said:

“I am struggling with providing all Shaan’s care, as well as looking after our four-year-old. I am a strong person and we have been through a lot in recent years, but the physical and mental strain is bringing me to my knees. All the lifting, all the communication challenges and all the sleep deprivation – Shaan needs help throughout the night as well. I barely cried across the four years since Shaan’s diagnosis as I’ve been so busy, but now I am breaking down in tears of exhaustion every few hours.”

Watch the video of Jessica and Shaan below.


Thank you to all our fantastic supporters who emailed their MP about the meeting – 1,299 of you took part in our e-action. Thanks to your efforts, the meeting was attended by 42 MPs and Peers (the biggest turnout yet!)

Association patrons Baroness Finlay of Llandaff and Eddie Redmayne joined the call where both asked questions on behalf of people living with MND and the supporters who took the time to write to their MP.

MPs and Peers represented at the APPG on MND


Steve Baker MP
Apsana Begum MP
Saqib Bhatti MP
Paul Bristow MP
Felicity Buchan MP
Ian Byrne MP
Brendan Clarke-Smith MP
Mims Davies MP
Martyn Day MP
Jack Dromey MP
Philip Dunne MP
Marion Fellows MP
Vicky Foxcroft MP
Robert Goodwill MP
Chris Grayling MP
Margaret Greenwood MP
Nia Griffith MP
James Grundy MP
Rachel Hopkins MP
Christine Jardine MP
David Johnston MP
Ruth Jones MP
Andrew Lewer MP
Scott Mann MP
Jason McCartney MP
Catherine McKinnell MP
Esther McVey MP
Navendu Mishra MP
Jessica Morden MP
Mary Robinson MP
David Rutley MP
Andrew Selous MP
Amanda Solloway MP
Julian Sturdy MP
James Sunderland MP
Mark Tami MP
Stephen Timms MP
Liz Twist MP
Christian Wakeford MP
Jamie Wallis MP


Baroness Finlay of Llandaff
Lord Mackenzie of Culkein

Stay up-to-date with all the APPG on MND news by following its’ Twitter account.

For further information and support contact our MND Connect helpline

mndconnect 0808 802 6262