MPs show their support for our Scrap 6 Months campaign

Colm With His MP
L to R: Actor Jim Carter, Colm Davis (living with MND), Lady Sylvia Hermon MP, actress Nichola McAuliffe

MPs have shown their support for our Scrap 6 Months campaign by attending an event hosted by the MND Association and Marie Curie.

The charities jointly hosted a drop-in event in Parliament for MPs to show their support for Madeleine Moon MP’s Access to Welfare (Terminal Illness Definition) Bill.

The Bill would remove the current 6-month restriction on the definition of a terminal illness and replace it with a clinical judgement. This would replicate the recent change made in Scotland and would mean that everyone with MND could access welfare benefits under the Special Rules for Terminal Illness fast-track process.

The Bill has its second reading on 23 November 2018 but will not proceed unless it has Government support. We are working closely with Madeleine Moon MP and Marie Curie to try to secure Government support for a change in the law, and we will be continuing to campaign on this issue beyond the 23rd.

Last week we met the Minister for Disabled People Health and Work, Sarah Newton MP, to discuss the Bill and yesterday we published research showing that GPs and neurologists support a change in the law defining a terminal illness.

Thank you to everyone who asked their MPs to attend the drop-in.  52 MPs were represented at the event, click below to see the full list:

List of MPs

Debbie, Abrahams MP (Oldham East and Saddleworth),
Peter Aldous MP (Waveney),
Sir David Amess MP (Southend West),
Paul Blomfield MP (Sheffield Central),
Ben Bradley MP (Mansfield),
Fiona Bruce MP (Congleton),
Dr Lisa Cameron MP (East Kilbride, Strathaven & Lesmahagow),
Alberto Costa MP (South Leicestershire),
Vernon Coaker MP (Gedling),
Wayne David MP (Caerphilly),
Glyn Davies MP (Montgomeryshire),
Chris Elmore MP (Ogmore),
Sir Michael Fallon MP (Sevenoaks),
Frank Field MP (Birkenhead),
Ruth George MP (High Peak),
Stephen Gethins MP (NE Fife),
Preet Gill MP (Birmingham, Edgbaston),
Damian Green MP (Ashford),
John Grogan MP (Keighley),
Fabian Hamilton MP (Leeds NE),
Drew Hendry MP (Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch & Strathspey),
Lady Sylvia Hermon MP (North Down),
George Howarth MP (Knowsley),
Gerald Jones MP (Merthyr Tydfil & Rhymney),
Gillian Keegan MP (Chichester),
Barbara Keeley MP (Worsley and Eccles South),
Sir Greg Knight MP (East Yorkshire),
John Lamont MP (Berwickshire, Roxburgh & Selkirk),
Andrew Lewer MP (Northampton South),
Dr Julian Lewis MP (New Forest East),
Justin Madders MP (Ellesmere Port and Neston),
Rachael Maskell MP (York Central),
Pat McFadden MP (Wolverhampton South East),
Catherine McKinnell MP (Newcastle upon Tyne North),
Jim McMahon MP (Oldham West & Royton),
Anna McMorrin MP (Cardiff North),
Mark Menzies MP (Fylde),
Madeleine Moon MP (Bridgend),
Jessica Morden MP (Newport East),
Stephanie Peacock MP (Barnsley East),
Jo Platt MP (Leigh),
Lawrence Robertson MP (Tewkesbury),
Paula Sherriff MP (Dewsbury),
Angela Smith MP (Penistone & Stocksbridge),
Sir Desmond Swayne MP (New Forest West),
Mark Tami MP (Alyn & Deeside),
Maggie Throup MP (Erewash),
Stephen Twigg MP (Liverpool West Derby),
Ed Vaizey MP (Wantage),
Rosie Winterton MP (Doncaster Central),
William Wragg MP (Hazel Grove),
Mohammed Yasin MP (Bedford)

More information

For further information and support contact our MND Connect helpline

mndconnect 0808 802 6262