Our Fellows

The Lady Edith Wolfson Fellowship Programme attracts and develops the careers of outstanding young Clinical and Non-Clinical researchers in order to create the future scientific leaders in the field of MND Research. Find out more about our current fellows below.


Clinical Research Fellowships

The first Clinical Fellowship was awarded to Professor Martin Turner (who was Dr Martin Turner at the time) from the University of Oxford in 2008. The Clinical Fellowships are funded in a partnership with the Medical Research Council (MRC).

Our previous Clinical Research Fellows include:

Prof Martin Turner (University of Oxford) | August 2008 - July 2013 and August 2013 - August 2018
Dr Robin Highley(University of Sheffield) | February 2009 - January 2012
Dr Ceryl Harwood
 (University of Sheffield) | April 2009 - March 2012
Dr Pietro Fratta
(University College London) | Sep 2010 - August 2013 and April 2015 - March 2019
Dr Johnathan Cooper-Knock (University of Sheffield) September 2012 - September 2015
Dr Jemeen Sreedharan (University of Massachusetts Medical School and the Babraham Institute) | June 2013 - February 2018
Dr Jakub Scaber (University of Oxford) | August 2013 - August 2016
Dr James Bashford (King's College London) | October 2016 - September 2019
Dr Emily Feneberg (University of Oxford) | October 2017 - August 2019

An additional Clinical Fellowship was co-funded with MND Scotland and the Scottish Government Chief Scientist’s Office:

Dr Danielle Leighton (University of Edinburgh) | August 2015 - August 2018

Non-Clinical Fellowships

The first Non-Clinical Fellowship was awarded to Dr Russell McLaughlin from Trinity College Dublin in 2016. The Non-Clinical Fellowships are funded solely by the MND Association.

Our previous Non-Clinical Research Fellows include:

Dr Scott Allen (University of Sheffield) | January 2016 - March 2019
Dr Martina Hallegger (University College London) |  January 2016 - December 2019
Dr Ashley Jones (King's College London) | March 2016 - August 2019
Dr Russel McLaughlin (Trinity College Dublin) | January 2016 - September 2019
Dr Matt Gabel
(Previously University of Sussex, now at the University of Oxford) | July 2017 - June 2019





For further information and support contact our MND Connect helpline

mndconnect 0808 802 6262